Vogue Today’s Fit 1385 Review

5

May 27, 2014 by Janna Roznos

It has been over three months since I have blogged – I’ve just been busy.

I’ve been reading.

DSC03813

I’ve been sewing.

DSC03812

I’ve been writing.

DSC03814

Although what I haven’t been doing is blogging.

I have completed quite a few garments these last few months and one of my favorites is this blouse Vogue Today’s Fit 1385.

Today's Fit Vogue 1385

Today’s Fit Vogue 1385

When this pattern was released I thought – meh!  But, the more I looked at it the more I thought maybe I should try it.

I sewed this up twice. The first one in this blue shirt fabric that I purchased from Michael Levine’s Loft in LA.

Front of blouse

Front of blouse

Back of blouse

Back of blouse

When I sewed up the muslin, the underarm was  too tight for me.

Muslin of Vogue 1385

Muslin of Vogue 1385

So I added the gusset in the underarm seam.

Gusset in underarm seam

Gusset in underarm seam

I cut the gusset on the bias so I have has a bit of stretch and the gusset gives me a squish more room in the raglan sleeve.

DSC03787

I searched through my button stash for buttons and I followed the button guide on the pattern for the button placement – big mistake.  The blouse gaps right at my bust line, just like ever RTW blouse I have ever owned; however, even with this ‘snafu’ I still like the blouse and do wear it quite often.

As I said, I sewed up two of these.  For my second blouse I used this rayon fabric that I bought several years ago at the Vintage Fair in Santa Monica.

DSC03772

Vintage fabric. I am guessing it is a rayon. I really don't know.

Vintage fabric. I am guessing it is a rayon. I really don’t know.

I sewed the blouse almost exactly like the first one, but I did do a few changes for this one.

DSC03789

I left out the gussets and the body darts so this blouse is not as fitted – more tunic style.

DSC03788

I also auditioned several different buttons (all from my stash).

DSC03774

DSC03773

Button placement of this blouse didn’t go so well either.  I really needed one more button, but since I was ‘shopping’ from my stash I had to use what I had on hand.  I should have sewn the button holes higher than I did, so now the blouse sort of gaps open in the front.  I may go back and sew a tiny snap in there to keep it closed.  Because I do really mind the gap!

If you are thinking about sewing this blouse here are a few tips, I can suggest.

Mark the beginning and the middle and the end of each pleat very, very carefully.

DSC03766

I sewed tailor tacks, which do take time and are a @#$&* to remove, especially if you sew over them; however, tailor tacks are worth the trouble for marking theses pleats.

This pattern is sized differently then the other Vogue patterns so double check the sizing – at least I need to do that.

Other than that, it is a nice blouse and really worth the effort.

5 thoughts on “Vogue Today’s Fit 1385 Review

  1. Aline says:

    They look wonderful, your blouses. I do agree with you on the flattering neckline, and I think yours are way more representative than the ones on the envelope. I particularly like the second one, lovely fabric!
    For the tacks, maybe it is an idea to use soluble basting thread next time? I haven’t used it yet, but know of some other sewers they can’t live without it anymore.

    • sewforward says:

      Soluble basting thread – never thought about that! I do have a spool of it in with my other thread. Great idea. I will using it next time I need to do tailor tacks. Thanks of the tip.

  2. Bunny says:

    I have this pattern but also have had a negative experience with the fit on SB patterns. Would you care to comment on how this pattern had to be changed for your shape? I found that if I made the garment by the sizes the pattern envelope recommended, based on my measurements, the garment was extremely tight in the bust armhole/ arm areas as well. Was this you case? I love this pattern but really hesitate to invest my time based on my past experience. Thanks for any input.

    found you from PR.

  3. Audrey says:

    This pattern is on my “to sew” queue” but I was having trouble choosing fabric. I was thrilled to see how great your blouses looked in the stripe and print fabrics. SB’s fabric choices can be a little out there for me, though they always look great on her when I see her at sewing Expo’s.

  4. Tammara says:

    Normaly I don’t read article on blogs, hwever I woud like to say tht this write-up very forced mee
    tto ceck out and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me.
    Thank you, quuite nice article.

Leave a Reply

Archives

