A ‘Selfie’ from Suburbia

2

January 30, 2014 by Janna Roznos

I’m home.  I have been away. Not too far away, but far enough that I had to take my dog to the kennel. 

A good friend of mine moved to Santa Barbara about a year ago and it just so happened that we both had last week free (no kids, no grandchildren, no husbands) so I drove to Santa Barbara see her new house, her the new neighborhood and sight-see around her new hometown.

In a word: FUN!

She likes to sew as much as I do, so we spent some time sewing.  Spent some time seeing the sights.  And, spent some time (and money) fabric shopping.

I bought some quilting cottons to make a thread-catcher bag.

Quilting Cottons

Quilting Cottons

We dined at The Habit, which originated in Santa Barbara.

 IMG_0667

We went to Solvang, which is a Danish Village outside of Buellton.

IMG_0668

I bought butter cookies, but they have already been eaten – Yummy!

On the spur of the moment, we took a needlework class at this adorable quilt shop in Carpentaria.

 DSC03740

I completed the pincushion; I just now need to stuff it and sew the opening closed.

All in all, it was a great week.

Now, I just have the laundry to finish.

 

DSC03736

2 thoughts on “A ‘Selfie’ from Suburbia

  1. Laurie says:

    I bet that was a fun trip. I love Santa Barbara- I lived in SB as a child, then Carpinteria, and I even lived in Solvang! I would love to live in Santa Barbara some day down the road but I don’t really think that will happen. Sighhh… but like you I can visit a few old friends!

Leave a Reply

Archives

