Burda Quest for 2013

6

December 30, 2013 by Janna Roznos

My sewing goal for 2013 was to sew one garment from each issue of Burda Style Magazine for 2013.

When I started this quest last January, I had no idea what I would be sewing or what I would accomplish (or not!) so let me recap the whole year:

January 1-2013-101- Blouse

1-2013-101

1-2013-101

I made this blouse from polyester blend fabric I picked up at JoAnn’s Fabric Store. I sewed a 42 (Burda sizes), which was too big for me. I didn’t like the blouse and wore only a few times before I threw it away. Not a good start to my sewing quest.

February 2-2013-127 – Knit blouse

 

2-2013-127

2-2013-127

Made this one from some red knit – also from JoAnn’s. Again, I sewed a 42, which seemed okay.  I had problems sewing the neckline. Knits are a struggle for me back in February and are still a struggle for me today.  I did like this top so I made another in a different knit.

 

2-2013-127

2-2013-127

March 3-2013-127 -Trousers

 

3-2013-127

3-2013-127

Trousers. Love them!  I sewed a 43 (based on my hip measurements) and I used a denim/bottom weight fabric that was stewing in my Fabric Closet.  I have worn these trousers a lot.  Truly a great pattern!

April 4-2013-104A -Blouse

 

4-2013-104A

4-2013-104A

Another winner!  I sewed this one in size 42 and it fits great.  The fabric is from Marcy Tilton’s website.  I have worn this blouse a lot.  Even wore it for a birthday dinner a few weeks ago.  It is one of my ‘go-to’ garments and has gotten a lot of wear this past year.

Liked this style so much, I sewed up another one.

 

4-2013-104A

4-2013-104A

May 5-2012-103/104 -Blouse

May was busy. Too busy! So I opted to sew a blouse from the 2012 issue of Burda. This blouse I had sewn before and had liked the style and the fit so I sewed this version in a polyester blend nautical fabric I purchased at JoAnn’s Fabrics.  I think I wore this blouse once, perhaps twice.  I hate the fabric.  It isn’t comfortable at all. It feels like I am wearing a plastic trash bag – YUCK!

5-2012-103/104

5-2012-103/104

 

June 6-2013-118 – Blouse

 

6-2013-118

6-2013-118

Another blouse. It fits well and it is a nice basic style (I sewed a size 42) but I haven’t worn this blouse once. I dislike the fabric: the color, the pattern and the fabric content (polyester, probably).  The fabric was given to me and was taking up room in my Fabric Closet – now, it is taking up room in my clothes closet.

July 7-2013-105 – Short pants

 

7-2013-105

7-2013-105

I sewed a size 42 and wore these shorts almost all summer.  They fit well and are comfortable.  I sewed them from a cotton blend bottom weight fabric, which was fermenting in my stash.  This is a great short pant pattern. I should make another pair for next summer and hopefully I will!

August 8-2013-118-Trousers

 

8-2013-118

8-2013-118

I sewed a size 42.  I used a corduroy fabric I had purchased at FIDM Scholarship store in Los Angeles.  The trousers fit well, but I think I have only worn them once or twice.  I don’t like the wide trousers legs. I may try and narrow them a bit.  I didn’t really notice this in the muslin, but once I got the trousers sewn in the fashion fabric I realized that I wasn’t so keen on this wide leg style.

September 9-2013-121-Blouse

 

 9-2013-127

9-2013-127

On oversized boyfriend’s shirt styled blouse. I sewed a 38/40 from some cotton fabric that I was given.  I wore this blouse quite a bit during the hottest months here in Southern California and I liked this blouse so much I sewed up a second one.

 9-2013-121

9-2013-121

October 10-2013-127B -Trousers

I sewed a 42 in heavy weight cotton twill from JoAnn’s Fabrics Store.  I added back pockets to the trousers even though I never use the back pockets but I like knowing that they are there.  These trousers I have worn quite a bit and they are very comfortable. I did have some issues with one of the side slant front pockets but which I have figured out how to remedy in any future trousers from this pattern; however on these trousers the slant pockets do bag out, which is annoying.

10-2013-127B

10-2013-127B

 

November 11-2013-110A Trousers

 

11-2013-110A

11-2013-110A

I sewed a 42 from a cotton printed corduroy fabric from JoAnn’s Fabric.  I had promised myself not to buy any more fabric.  Yea! Well, that was an empty promise.  I had gone to JoAnn’s Fabric Store just to buy thread and I saw this fabric and I thought: I got to have!  Once again, I added back pockets to this trousers, I also was able to sew the slant pockets so they don’t bag out like on the 10-2013-127B trousers I sewed.  I have worn these trousers a lot.  I like the fit (this pattern has cuffs) and the style and the fabric – of course!  This is the garment that has gotten the most comments, too.

 

December 12-2013-115 – Blouse

DSC03652

I chose a size 42 and started to sew this pattern however; when I put this blouse on my dress form I discovered that the pattern placement was not very complementary- oops! (The fabric, was given to me, so although I was angry with myself for messing this up, I wasn’t out too much.)

So this a wadder!

I decided to try again.  And, so I chose this fabric from my stash –fabric, once again, that I was given.

 

12-2013-115

12-2013-115

And, the blouse has hung here on my dress form since the beginning of December.  Why?  I just sort of lost my enthusiasm for this garment.  I am not all that thrilled with the fabric and I am not sure I am all that thrilled with the design of the blouse.  So I don’t know if I will get my December Burda garment completed or not.

In addition to these garments, I went back to the May Burda 2013 and decided I wanted to sew a dress that I had seen.  Dresses are not something I wear very often anymore but we had plans to go to San Francisco last fall (which we did) and I thought it would be nice to have a dress to wear when we went out to dinner.

 

5-2013-134

5-2013-134

Good thought. Great intention, but I failed.

This is Burda 5-2013-134, a Vintage style dress.  I chose size 42 and sewed up a muslin.  I fussed. I tucked.  I manipulated the bodice until I thought I got a pretty good fit however, by the time I got to the fashion fabric (cut and sewn) I had lost all enthusiasm for the dress and it has been hanging on the back of my sewing studio door ever since. The fabric and trim came from Michael Levine’s in Los Angeles.

A few insights from my Burda Quest:

  1. For a garment to really ‘work’ for me it needs three components: fit, fabric and design.  If one of those is missing, I probably am not going to excited about it nor even finish sewing it.
  2. Fabric that has been ‘stewing’ in my stash either for months or years or whether I bought it or it was given to me is not good.  I should buy fabric for a specific project and then sew it, not ‘stash’ fabric like some squirrel stashing its’ nuts for winter.
  3. I should sew for my lifestyle (casual, comfortable and suburbia folks!) and not for something I think I would like or dream about (hip, urban and sophisticated.)
  4. I still can’t make heads or tails out of the Burda sewing instructions and I guess I never will.
  5. I have finally figured out what size I wear in Burda patterns. Yeah!
  6. I need to learn how to sew knits better.
  7. And finally, this is the most sewing I have ever done in a year and I’m glad I gave it a try and I am pleased with my results – success and failures, too!

So, where does this take my sewing to in 2014?  First, I have let my subscription to Burda Style Magazine expire.

Burda renewal reminder

Burda renewal reminder

Yep it is true.  It is not because I don’t like Burda Style but I have run out of room to store the magazines.

Burda shelf

Burda shelf

So even though I’m not subscribing to Burda anymore that doesn’t mean I won’t be sewing from the magazine. I have plenty of issues for inspiration and patterns.

Also I plan on sewing (or at least trying) to sew up much of my fabric stash (and hopefully not add too much more to it).

Fabric Stash

Fabric Stash

 

Yes, I know. It is a mess! One of my goals for 2014 is to get it organized.

And, I have signed up for several Craftsy classes, which I need to review, too.  So although I don’t have a specific sewing quest in mind for 2014, I do have a few plans that will keep me busy, complement my wardrobe and – hopefully- continuing on blogging.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Burda Quest for 2013

  1. Tia Dia says:

    Good for you managing to get through the Burda Challenge successfully! I set myself the same goal – it has been a very big challenge!

  2. Gjeometry says:

    Wow!! Great job having a Burda garment every month! My favourites are April and July. December’s is looking good to me, from the pics, but obviously you would know best, having tried it on, etc. I have yet to sew one thing from Burda magazine. I only have about 3 copies, but I have earmarked one and already purchased the fabric for it. We’ll see if it goes down.

  3. Lynn says:

    I have a collection of older BWOF magazines out of which I would like to make at least one garment. Congratulations on completing your quest – even if the December garment doesn’t make it. To make 11/12 is no small task!

  4. sewforward says:

    Thank you for your comments – got to bet back to the sewing machine 😉

  5. Elle C says:

    Well done! I am impressed, and now feeling like a complete slacker as I didn’t make one garment from Burda this year. Oh well, the feeling will pass. Happy New Year!

    • sewforward says:

      I have ‘plenty’ of issues from previous years that I had all the best intentions of sewing a garment from them and instead . . . they have sat on the shelf! Now, I need to ‘catch up’ and sew from all those un-touched issues.

Leave a Reply

Archives

