My Burda Quest: October Trousers

4

October 3, 2013 by Janna Roznos

Fall is in the air.

Crisp autumn mornings.

The leaves have turned a brilliant warm color.

The silhouettes of the barren trees mark the night sky at dusk.

Yea, right.

Here in Southern California, we know it is autumn because the summer heat has finally broken and Costco has now stocked their warehouse store with Christmas decorations. Yep! Christmas decorations!  The Halloween decorations (and candy!) were stocked back in August.

Also, the strip mall down on the boulevard, where the hardware used to be, is now a Spirit Halloween shop. Everything under a harvest moon is available for that out-of-control Halloween party my neighbors are going to have until the wee hours of the morning or until the police come and break it up!

So, with autumn in mind I glanced through my October Burda Style Magazine.

 

Burda 10-2013

Burda 10-2013

My quest to sew one garment from each issue continues and I decided to sew these trousers 10-2013-127B.

DSC03501

I used some stretch twill I had in my stash from some unknown origin.  I used left over quilting fabric and blouse fabric for the inside of the waistband and the pockets.

DSC03513

Which, at the time, seemed like a good idea, but unfortunately, the polka dot fabric was peeking over the edge of the pocket.

DSC03512

Thank goodness for Sharpie pens.

A few daps of a black Sharpie and that unsightly sewing error is now gone! No ripping nor re-sewing required.

DSC03514

These trousers fit great and are very comfortable.

DSC03525

I didn’t like the plain back that the pattern calls for so I added patch pockets with pocket flaps.

DSC03517

Yes, I did just use the pattern pieces I had drafted up for the 8-2013-118 trousers that I had sewn.  Thanks for noticing.

I only had three of these nifty anchor buttons so I used those on these trousers.

DSC03515

My big complaint? The front pockets!  They don’t stay flat when I am wearing the trousers.

Of course, I should have recognized this since the model has her hands in the pockets. Obviously covering up this flaw in the design.

 

Burda 10-2013-127B

Burda 10-2013-127B

Or, maybe back when we all drove around in Volkswagen vans, we wanted out front pockets to gape open.  Honestly I don’t remember. I was a child during the Volkswagen van era.

Not to be out done, I decided to recreate this picture, so here I am.

DSC03524

I am standing in front of my very own ‘95 Saturn Vue.  Not as vintage as a Volkswagen nor as iconic but, it is paid for! And, more importantly it runs much better than the Volkswagen Cabriolet I once owned.

I did alter the fit of the trousers by adding about ½” to the back crotch curve extension.

All in all, I do like the trousers.  I would definitely add a bit a twill tape into the pocket edge to prevent the gap issue if I sewed these trousers again.

I did wear these on my recent vacation to San Francisco.  I also went shopping at:

 

Britex Fabrics in San Francisco, CA

Britex Fabrics in San Francisco, CA

So now I am eagerly waiting for the November issue of Burda Style Magazine and my Burda sewing quest continues. . . .

4 thoughts on “My Burda Quest: October Trousers

  1. alicecaboni says:

    really nice blog 🙂 Keep doing so!
    Don’t mind checkin out my italian fashion blog 🙂 !

  2. Sewingelle says:

    These look great. What did you get from Britex?

    • sewforward says:

      I didn’t have a lot of time at Britex to browse so I purchased some Italy shirt material and buttons, too. I rarely ever buy buttons anymore, but when needed just rummage through my button stash. New buttons – a new treat!

  3. Gjeometry says:

    Oooh, la la!! Trousers! These look fantastic on you, great job. And, Sharpie pen?? That’s brilliant, I actually have Sharpie markers in every single colour that they come in, so can use this trick for mistakes on many different outfit!

Leave a Reply

Archives

