Oops! I did it again

6

September 24, 2013 by Janna Roznos

Yep, I sewed another  Burda 9-2013-121 blouse.

Burda 9-2013-121Blouse

Burda 9-2013-121Blouse

Just when ya thought it was safe from any more oversized blouses – what happens? I make a second one from my Burda quest for September.

Another version of Burda 9-2013-121

Another version of Burda 9-2013-121

 

I must say, I wasn’t totally thrilled with the first one.  Being oversized I wasn’t sure if I would really like it.

My first Burda 9-2013-127 blouse

My first Burda 9-2013-127 blouse

 

I did go down one size but it is still pretty shapeless. But I love it. I have worn this one a lot this summer So, I figured I must have another.

 

Yes, another picture of the Burda 9-2013-121

Yes, another picture of the Burda 9-2013-121

I have worn this second blouse quite a bit since I have sewn it, too.

Why it is such a great blouse: it goes with everything: shorts, skits, pants.  It is the perfect lightweight blouse to throw over a T-shirt in the evenings as a light weight jacket.

This time I sewed it from polyester fabric – I think?! The content is unknown since the fabric was given to me.  What makes this second blouse so nice it that it drapes better and flows so nicely. Sort of elegant in an oversized-blouse-fashioned way!

 

Sleeve placket

Sleeve placket

I sewed the sleeves with a sleeve placket and the buttons came from my button stash.

However, I was unable to get a nice sewn collar so I used my old stand by technique and gathered a bit of the selvedge edge and put that in the collar stand.

A bit of the selvedge- gathered and inserted into the collar stand.

A bit of the selvedge- gathered and inserted into the collar stand.

A quick and easy way to finish the blouse and no one else is the wiser expect for all of you that I are reading here right now.

So the Burda quest for September was a double success. Now, moving on to Burda October.

6 thoughts on “Oops! I did it again

  1. good job! They look really nice

  2. Tia Dia says:

    I agree with you that a flowy drapey kind of fabric works in oversized “shapeless” blouses. My favourite fabric to use on just such a pattern is a silk chiffon or georgette because either one drapes so nicely. I love your 2nd go at this, and can see why it goes with everything!

  3. CherryPix says:

    The collar works a treat! Both look very well made and stylish.

Leave a Reply

Archives

