Sunday Draws

1

September 16, 2013 by Janna Roznos

DSC03490

Most people, I would suspect, may have a more productive Sunday morning than me.  Why? I like to draw on Sunday mornings.

DSC03485

I haven’t been out drawing much lately.  I just haven’t really felt like going out drawing amongst the masses so I bring the inspiration to my kitchen table.

DSC03483

Since drawing faces is what like the most – actually, drawing people is what I like the most and fashion magazines for inspiration work out pretty good; however, the people populating magazines are always pretty much the same: they fit a prescribed ideal beauty that isn’t seen in the real world. So when I draw from magazines I like to manipulate some aspect of the face the give the subject a unique/unusual apperance.

 DSC03488

Drawing from magazines are always so flat, where as when I am drawing out in the world I have to be quick and capture the subject with just a few lines of my pencil. However, drawing at the kitchen table means I can do so in the comfort of my  own home and have all my watercolors right by me.

DSC03484

 

I need to get out and draw some ‘real’ people, real soon.

DSC03489

 

 

One thought on “Sunday Draws

  1. Tia Dia says:

    LOVE this. Love the drawings. And yes, real is soooo much more interesting that magazines!

Leave a Reply

Archives

