My Burda quest for September

3

September 9, 2013 by Janna Roznos

My Burda quest continues . . .

From the September Burda Style Magazine:

DSC03426

I chose this blouse to sew:

9-2013-121

9-2013-121

Burda describes this as the ‘classical men’s style shirt’ with all the elements of a great button up shirt: standing collar, shoulder yokes, back pleat, etc. In other words, it’s the ‘boyfriend’s’ shirt.

This garment is group size: 34/36, 38/40, 42/44.  I usually sew a 42 in Burda blouses but since this is the boyfriend shirt (oversized!) I dropped down a size and traced the 38/40.

DSC03438

I used a cotton shirt material I had in my stash.   This fabric was some of the ‘free’ fabric I was given several months ago.

Since I feel over confident in my fitting abilities I decided to forgo a muslin and just tissue fitted the pattern on myself and then cut into the fashion fabric.

Well over confident I was.  I think I could have gone down even to the smallest size (34/36) but of course, now that I have completed sewn the garment (included the french seams) I am not picking it apart. I will be just wearing the shirt as is.

A bit fuzzy and not in a good way.

A bit fuzzy and not in a good way.

A few complaints/mistakes:

1) I didn’t cut the selvedge off on the center front.   The selvedge edge is pink.  Do you know where I am going with this?  The selvedge edge can be seen through the folded fabric at center front. Yep!  Bet you didn’t see that one coming.  So, to remedy this mistake,  I made it man style and put the button holes on the right side and the buttons on the left side.

2) I made the button holes the wrong direction on the cuffs although I think I would be the only one who notices that.

DSC03441

3) I made the yoke a two piece on the back cut on the bias, however, by doing this the stripes don’t match in the front.

DSC03440

4) I was unable to get a buttonhole in the collar stand. I did try- twice. After the second mess of  buttonhole I gave up.

5) The sleeves are about an inch too long for me.  If I had sewn a muslin I would have known this.  If I had even measure the sleeve pattern I probably could have figured out the sleeve was going to be too long!

Okay so those are my mistakes/complaints/oops!/what was I thinking list of issues with this blouse.

Now two  other issues:

1) I did add sleeve vents on the bias, which I think is a nice design element.

2) The buttons I used are from my button stash.  I had bought these the last time I was at the Bead Show in Pasadena (last July I think) and I found them in my button stash.

IMG_0597

Hard to image finding anything in this mess.

So what’s the conclusion with this blouse?

I love it.

First, this cotton shirt fabric is wonderful to sew and to wear.  I would suspect it is almost all cotton, maybe a touch of polyester because it breathes but doesn’t wrinkle the way 100% cotton does.

The blouse is voluminous – not fitted one bit. It is comfortable and even those too long sleeves, I just roll them up anyway.

I wore it yesterday while out walking my dog – it was only 90 degrees F (about 32 degrees C) and the blouse was cool and comfortable.

And, besides, it is a ‘boyfriend’s shirt, so it surely isn’t going to fit me like a woman’s blouse.

Here’s the back view – just in case you wanted to see that, too.

DSC03439

Would I make this again?  Perhaps, I might.  But before I do that, I think I would try making muslin of the smaller size and see how that fits me.

Now, I only have to wait until Burda November arrives in my mailbox.  Can’t wait!

3 thoughts on “My Burda quest for September

  1. Tia Dia says:

    Love the details – all those chevrons! I’m so behind on my Burda challenge! It’s occupying most of my queue!

  2. CGCouture says:

    Those sleeve plackets are beautiful!! I can never get mine perfect like that. And I hear ya on not being able to put a buttonhole on the collar stand. I’ve never been able to get anything but my vintage machine (with the buttonhole attachment) to do a halfway decent job.

Leave a Reply

Archives

