My sewing journey continues . . . . . .

5

July 31, 2013 by Janna Roznos

My quest to sew one garment from every Burda Style magazine for a year continues:

IMG_0497

For the month of July I finally decided to sew these shorts, which I figured would be perfect for me to wear while walking my dog:

IMG_0544

The dilemma for me with these ‘short’ shorts is that I gave up wearing this style quite a long time ago. I am no longer 21. I’m not even 31 nor even 41 nor – well, you get the idea. My mid-century body requires a bit more coverage than this pattern offers, so I redrafted the pattern and made them into Bermuda shorts

IMG_0542

I omitted the cuff and just used a twin needle hem, which I didn’t sew too well, but was just too lazy to ‘unstitch’ and try again.  I did add belt loops (or carriers) even though I rarely, if ever, tuck my shirt in and wear a belt, but they do make the shorts seem more RTW to me.

I also used some quilt fabric for the waistband facing – Yes! It is a chicken print.  I also used it for the inside of the pocket.

I wish I had a picture of me wearing the shorts but 1) haven’t anyone around to take that elusive pic and 2) haven’t a camera to take the pic either, just my cell phone that does okay for pictures but not as well as the camera.

So I have to be content (and so do you) with just a flat  I-must-finish-putting-away-my-clean-laundry-pictures.

IMG_0541

After I finished these shorts and wore them out dog walking the mail arrived and look what was in my mailbox.

IMG_0543

Now, what am I going to make next.  My Burda quest continues.

5 thoughts on “My sewing journey continues . . . . . .

  1. Tia Dia says:

    I love this “Burda quest”. I’m on the same quest! Looking forward to seeing what you make from July’s issue.

  2. Zoe says:

    Your Burda quest sounds like such a cool idea, I really need to get my hands on a copy or two of Burda. Did you know a US version is being released in October?

  3. seweverythingblog says:

    Found your blog through a WordPress “suggestion”. Love it. Also love your idea of sewing one item from each magazine.

Leave a Reply

Archives

