Vogue 1287 – It won and I lost!

6

June 4, 2013 by Janna Roznos

I gave up.

IMG_0453

I tired to fit a muslin for this Vogue 1287 dress pattern –

 

Vogue pattern

Vogue pattern

And, I failed.

The pinned together muslin.

The pinned together muslin.

I pinned the top of the dress together and the bottom of the dress.  Geez! Who designed the pocket in this dress! Yikes! What a convoluted trial that it is was!

I just wasn’t able to get the muslin to fit the dress form nor even fit me – although I don’t have any pictures of me in it. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

So I unpinned the whole muslin and threw it away.

Now, I will start on something else.

 

IMG_0454

Just as soon as I poke all my pins back into my pincushion.

6 thoughts on “Vogue 1287 – It won and I lost!

  1. I’m also too lazy to make a muslin. bad thing about that is that I’ll fail with the fabric I like. The good news is it can usually be changed into something completely different. on the other hand there are a few unfinished projects in my fabric closet.

  2. triggsey says:

    I feel your pain! It took three fitting muslins to get a simple top right…so frustrating but I think I’ve got it and ready to sew the fashion fabric. Good luck on the next one! Love your “pincushion”

  3. Gjeometry says:

    Aw, sorry to hear. I also have a Vogue dress in the UFO pile. Not throwing it away, but definitely found it to be cursed somehow.

  4. missparayim says:

    That’s too bad! Do you think the muslin itself could be to blame? It looks like that dress is meant for a more drapey fabric. It doesn’t look bad to me, so maybe some of the imperfections you’re seeing would shake out in a less stuff fabric.

    • sewforward says:

      Maybe – the pattern is for either for a knit, which obviously the muslin is not, or a stretch woven which is what I planned on using (a stretch charmueuse – sp?) so I had thought the muslin was pretty close to the weight/drape of the stretch woven, but I still had troubles. I did read all the reviews of this pattern on Pattern Review and although many have sewn the dress all the reviewers struggled with the pattern draft. Maybe I was doomed before I began? Maybe I just need to step away for a bit.

Leave a Reply

Archives

