In the swim of it!

3

March 26, 2013 by Janna Roznos

I have begun to sew my first swimsuit.  I have collected fabrics and patterns these last few years but this is the first of actually trying to sew a swimsuit.

I have these two patterns:

Choice of swimsuit patterns.

Choice of swimsuit patterns.

I am going to use 1360 – the tankini since when I buy a RTW swimsuit, this is the style I like best.  However, in RTW tankini’s tops are always too short on me.  Since I am long in the torso, I need at least another inch in length.

For fabrics, I have these in my stash:

Lots of swim suit fabric

Lots of swim suit fabric

And, I also bought this swimsuit kit when I was at ETA California last fall.

Swimsuit kit from Bella Bravo Bras

Swimsuit kit from Bella Bravo Bras

And . . . you knew there had to be more . . . I recently bought this at JoAnn’s.

Latest swimsuit items

Latest swimsuit items

The power net is not as heavy as I would like, but I can use it for the bra band I will sew for the swimsuit.

It isn’t really warm enough here for swimming (although, it is plenty warm for yard work!)

Weeds I pulled from my gardens.

Weeds I pulled from my gardens.

Time to get back to sewing!

3 thoughts on “In the swim of it!

  1. sewexhausted says:

    I really like the print, are those lemons!? Very cute. I have a swim suit in the works for my daughter. I look forward to seeing your finished suit! ~Kerrielee

  2. Laurel says:

    I was wondering why you are not making a tankini from one of your bra patterns?It is so easy once you have a good bra fit… and you are so talented!

Leave a Reply

Archives

