March Madness Burda Style

4

March 22, 2013 by Janna Roznos

My quest to make one garment from each Burda Style magazine for the year of 2013 continues.  For March, I sewed these trousers:

From March Burda Style No. 127

From March Burda Style No. 127

I chose a size 42, since that is what corresponds to my hip size and did no other alterations.

The front of my trousers with my dog.

The front of my trousers with my dog.

I used a denim fabric that I had in my stash, which I had purchased at JoAnn’s Fabrics. I must really like this color and weight of denim because I have two other pieces of it in my fabric stash that I recently rediscovered.

These trousers are perfect for me because I need comfortable pants for my dog walking.

Side view of the pockets.

Side view of the pockets.

The multiple pockets make it easy for me to stash all the necessarily accouterments for dog walking in the suburbs: cell phone, poop bags, dog treats, poop bags, house keys, sunglasses and  Ya-Never-Want–To–Run-Out-Of-Them poops bags! 

My apologies for the poor pictures, I know the pants are horribly wrinkled, but I had worn them all day the day before, and then I put them back on for our morning walk. DH had a few spare moments so I wrangled him in taking a few photos.

Also, DH is MUCH taller than I am, hence why these shots are not straight on but rather looking down.

Back view.

Back view.

The back is a little baggy, but I think that is the cut of trousers.  I didn’t notice all bagginess in the muslin that I sewed. Oops!

A few problems I had in sewing:  First, putting in the zipper. Eh Gads!  I need to practice that technique.  There is a bit of gapping in the back of the waist band. Also, I should pay closer attention to the turn of the cloth since the facing fabric for my pockets is peaking out.  Hello!

Facing fabric for the waist band, zipper shield and the pocket facings.

Facing fabric for the waist band, zipper shield and the pocket facings.

I did use this neat Parisian print  for all the facings.

Facing fabric.

Facing fabric.

Probably, I should have used brown cotton that would match the trouser fabric, but I am trying to sew down my fabric stash, so I just grab what’s available.

The bi-level foot for my sewing machine came in handy for the top stitching around the pocket inserts.  I would definitely recommend getting this foot to top stitch bulky fabric like this denim.

Bi-level foot for top stitching.

Bi-level foot for top stitching.

All in all I really like these pants.  I think, if was to make another pair, I would *tweak* the fit a little bit more (maybe try and take in the bagginess in the back and alter the waistband a bit to make it more snug).

After sewing them and taking my dog for a walk, I came home and look what came in the mail for me:

Burda Style April 2013

Burda Style April 2013

So many great outfits and only 30 days in the month of April, I bet get sewing!

 

4 thoughts on “March Madness Burda Style

  1. Gjeometry says:

    Oh, these pants are great! LOVE LOVE that lining. I think you can never have too many pockets. And, your dog actually looks suspiciously similar to mine. (She passed away in June). When I used to take her for walks, I had a little clip wallet I attached to her leash and otherwise put everything in my pockets.

    I’m also having a giveaway on my site to celebrate the vernal or autumnal equinox, depending on where you live. Feel free to drop by and check it out!

  2. CherryPix says:

    Great to see your version if these pants! The pockets are great. You’ve also got me looking for a bi-level foot…very intriguing!

  3. sewexhausted says:

    Great pants! Someday I will be brave and make a pair… in the meantime I will enjoy looking at all the pants you brave sewists make… ~Laurie

Leave a Reply

Archives

