On my sewing table: The Amelia Blouse

4

February 4, 2013 by Janna Roznos

I am currently working on Amelia blouse from Burda Modern Vintage.

???????????????????????????????

I receive this book as a birthday gift (from myself!) last December and have been eager to make something from it.

The blouse is a 1930’s inspired design:

Amelia model

I had fabric from my stash that I was going to use, but yesterday I went to The original Vintage Fashion Expo in Santa Monica:

???????????????????????????????

 

And I saw  this at one of the vendors:

???????????????????????????????

And, I had to get it. It wasn’t inexpensive. (Nothing is cheap in Santa Monica) but I thought it would be perfect for this thirties inspired blouse.

Besides the fabric for the Amelia blouse, I also purchased this fabric:

???????????????????????????????

Which, I have no plans for so it will just go into my stash – for now.

I also, bought these patterns, which I am not sure would qualify as ‘vintage’ but nonetheless I am calling them that.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

I enjoy looking ‘vintage patterns’ and several vendors at the show had boxes of them.  I am always intrigued with the art work and the styles but I do try to only buy patterns that I have the potential to sew for myself. So I only purchased these two.

The last two weeks here have been in a word: CRAZY!

However, I think the family turmoil has settled down a bit (or maybe I am just getting used to it?) and hopefully I can get reacquainted with my sewing machine sometime this week and finish some of my projects.

4 thoughts on “On my sewing table: The Amelia Blouse

  1. Gjeometry says:

    “A birthday gift from myself”, LOL. I love that 1930’s Amelia blouse. Lots of interesting seams. Good luck with the blouse and can’t wait to see it when it’s done!

  2. KC says:

    The Amelia will be beautiful! But I really love the second, to-be-stashed fabric–such great colors!

  3. You always give yourself the best birthday presents. I know I do! I’ve been eyeing that Burda book, just haven’t caved in yet. But, my b-day is coming up, hmmm.

    • sewforward says:

      I was planning on doing a book review once I got the blouse done, which I had hoped would have been done by now, but these sewing projects always take me longer than I think they will.

Leave a Reply

Archives

