This iron is hot!

3

January 24, 2013 by Janna Roznos

A good iron is an important tool in anyone’s sewing arsenal.

So I thought I would tell you about my iron.  Of course, it does help that on my last post, Andrea of Satin Bird Designs (satinbirddesigns.blogspot.com)  asked me about it.

side view

It’s great! I am so happy I purchased this iron.

I purchased mine from the Oliso sale rep at the ETAC of California sewing conference. I hadn’t thought about getting one – although I was very unhappy with my last iron, but some sewists I was sitting with in one of the sessions kept talking about how much they liked theirs and their comments sold me on this iron.

It’s easy to fill with water and has a large reservoir which means it has lots of steam when I need it. Unlike my last iron, which wasn’t easy to fill with water and had a small reservoir.

DSC02933

It has NO auto off shut off mechanism so it is always ready to use. I hate those auto shut off irons because they always shut off when I go to use the iron and that is the first thing that fails on the iron.

The Oliso has this nifty itouch system so it sits on these little feet until you touch it.

on its feet

Once I touch the handle, where the sensor pad is, the feet retract.

sensor handle

I did use the iron in this format, but I am ‘old school’ and am always setting my iron up on its end so I turned this function off.

itouch

The iron fits in the holder I have on the wall, which is good-one more sewing item up off the table when not in use.

on the wall

As any sewists knows, pressing is an important step in all sewing, so a reliable iron is a must for any sewing room.

Over the years I have had lots of irons from inexpensive irons I picked up at the local discount store to gravity feed iron which developed a electrical short and it couldn’t be fixed.  Time will tell if the Oliso will last for many years (I am hoping so) and so far I am very pleased with it.

3 thoughts on “This iron is hot!

  1. CherryPix says:

    Thanks for this info! Always interesting to read about tools that work well!

  2. Andrea says:

    Thank you for the iron review! I really appreciate you taking the time to post the review.

  3. ooobop! says:

    A good reminder that I really need to update mine!

Leave a Reply

Archives

