Hamming it Up.

2

January 20, 2013 by Janna Roznos

I decided I needed a big pressing ham. I have a small one – but a BIG one is what I want

So I decided to make one.

I had saved the pattern for a pressing ham and instructions from the August/Sept 2012 issue of Vogue Pattern magazine. I used wool (scraps from a blazer I had made years ago) on one side and a quilting cotton (that I received in my quilt group) on the other side.  I also cut an inside (underlining?) out of an old bed sheet.

 

All the pieces for my new pressing ham

All the pieces for my new pressing ham

Initially, I stuffed it with crushed walnuts, which didn’t work and the ham ended up much too heavy.

My first stuffing - not a success.

My first stuffing – not a success.

So, I tried wood shavings – actually aspen wood shavings that I purchase at the HUGE pet chain store we have here.

wood shavings

I made a funnel from an discarded file folder and used a wooded spoon to jam the shavings down into the ham.

funnel and spoon in ham

I even just pressed the wood shavings with my hand, too. This is messy so I stuffed it outside.

hand in ham

And, finally I have a new jumbo sized ham.

new ham

After I cleaned it up (brushed off all the remnants of wood shavings) I brought it inside and gave it a good steaming with my new iron.

shaping ham

I have been using my jumbo sewing ham for the garment I am currently working on.  I think I am going to try and make some more hams and try to stuff them even tighter so they are almost rock hard like the little one that I have.

But, in the interim, this one is just perfect.

2 thoughts on “Hamming it Up.

  1. Andrea says:

    Very nice ham! How do you like your Oliso iron?

  2. ooobop! says:

    I never thought I’d use a ham… till I got one!

Leave a Reply

Archives

