WIP: Work in progress?

5

December 8, 2012 by Janna Roznos

I started  these trousers from Burda Style 12-2012-125

pic of trouser

And, this has become a work-in progress a WIP! Although, I think I should call it a work with no progress– a WWNP!

unfinished trousers

I started this project with lots of enthusiasm and the excitement of having a new pair of perfectly fit trousers to wear.

I had to modify the pattern a bit to achieve a good fit:

darts in back

I added a bit more room in the back (specifically my bum).  I don’t want the extra room on the side seam only on the center back, so I slash  and spread the pattern at the center back only.  The side seam remains the same  length although, I do have to true up the side seams a bit after this modification.  Essentially, I have added ‘two’ darts in the pant back, however these darts are not sewn in the final garment.  By adding these darts, I get the extra room I need it where I need it.

Another modification I make is at the waistline   My waistline is not horizontal to the floor.  A result of too many years of sweets (primarily chocolate) and genetics: a sway back that could twist the strongest elastic!

I like  the front waistline of my pants right about  my belly button; however,  the pants would be much too low in the back if I kept the waist even with the front, so I must add to the back waist to maintain a good coverage (and comfort) .

muslin

And so this project sits, idle on my sewing table.

pile of project

Why?  Because at this point the ‘true’ sewing begins and there are a lot of starts and stops in sewing a pair of trousers.  Particularly, the fly zip front.  Off the top of my head I can’t remember how to sew one of these – so I need to go look it up and see the example that I have in my sewing technique/instruction  notebook.

how to notebook

I have complied examples of different sewing techniques, which I use a lot,  into this notebook. (Here I have a picture of a collar/collar band method that I have taught for the local chapter of the American Sewing Guild.  I have been meaning to post this technique here on my blog, but I haven’t as of yet. Maybe, one day.)

I have no excuse for my delay.  I have all the instruction at my fingertips, but still my trousers sit.

Who knows when I’ll get these done? I get no encouragement by my dog either.

sleeping dog

If I followed his example, I’d still be in bed!

5 thoughts on “WIP: Work in progress?

  1. Tia Dia says:

    I hear you. I’ve got a couple of project cut and waiting and, well…. they’re definitely WNIP. Here’s to a return of your sewing mojo!

  2. sewforward says:

    I have found that I have become really good at starting sewing projects, but not so good at finishing them. Yikes!

  3. Andrea says:

    Love the sleepy dog pic at the end of the post! The technique notebook is a great idea. I have a similar thing for the different stitches my serger makes. Here’s to finding the mojo!

  4. Every Stitch says:

    I totally get the thing about sewing fly front zips. I seweddd for years avoiding anything with a fly front until I found this link:

    It’s a youtube video on sewing fly fronts. Play it while you sew, stopping and starting as required, she makes it really simple
    Good Luck

Leave a Reply

Archives

