Clean Up! Clean Out! Clean Sweep?

Leave a comment

November 13, 2012 by Janna Roznos

My desire to clean out my house, garage, basement, attic and garden hut is still going strong.

Some what.

Quite frankly I really don’t know what to do with what I have. How did I get all this stuff and if get rid of it – Won’t I need it in the future?

Today I boxed up all the paper goods: plates, bowls, cups plastic cutlery and those little red stirring straws everyone needs when they put sugar in their coffee.  I have a whole box of those little buggers.

All of this gets passed on to the next Christmas Wreath Chairperson.  This will be the first time in ten years that we are not sponsoring the YMCA Christmas Wreath build in our backyard.  Besides this mundane box of paper supplies, there are boxes of extra pine cones, pine cone wires, Christmas wreath hangers, delivery sacks, red Christmas wreath bows and little wire cutters (which are now in the paper goods box) lurking in the garage.

None of this stuff I will need in the future.  I am sure of it!

I did clean out a box in the garage of sewing items.  I found a few gems that I put in my sewing room:

Nifty old sewing notions

There is some old tracing paper, which may still be good. A nice spool of cotton thread, which is perfect for tailor tacks.  A box of tailors’ chalk, which was priced at a whopping 15 cents when one of my grandmothers bought it way back when.  The scissors are all for embroidery (or just to snip threads). They may not look so good but they all still are sharp and cut well.  Not sure if I can clean them up or if I should just leave them as is.

I actually have quite a few old scissors from my grandmothers and, of course, I have bought quite a few new ones over the years.  Not sure if my grandmothers had a scissor fascination, like I have. Gulp.

Or maybe, they received them as gifts?

I  also discover these silver scissors in this brown paper sleeve.

What I like about these (besides the fact they still cut well and look good) is that they are marked USA. It is difficult, if not impossible to find anything manufactured in States anymore.

Also, I found my grandmother’s tracing wheel.  She bought this at JCPenny’s for .49 cents.  Price tag is still on the box.

I just love looking at old things like this.  I guess that’s why I like antique stores and flea markets.  I always wonder who originally bought some item and what did they do with it and why is it now sitting here at a flea market?  If my old stuff could talk what would it say about me?  Maybe it’s best that I don’t know.

Finally, in this box were these knitting pattern books:

Not sure what I am going to do with these, since I don’t know and I have no desire to start knitting.  In fact the knitting needles I found (while cleaning out several other boxes) are already in  the box for the Goodwill.

So although I am slowly getting stuff cleaned up and have slowly cleaned out I still haven’t gotten to the clean sweep where I can lean on my broom in sweet satisfaction of a job well done.

Leave a Reply

Archives

