The Urban Skirt

2

July 15, 2012 by Janna Roznos

I finished my Burda 6-2012-144 skirt.

I do like it and am wearing it – right now as I write this! It doesn’t look all that impressive on my dress form, but it fits me well and is comfortable to wear, too.

Here is a picture of me wearing it with my favorite I’m-off-to-walk-my-dog shoes.

I should find a better (more attractive?) pair of walking shoes that don’t begin in K and end in Swiss. I have worn this style of sports shoe for ‘gulp’ almost 30 years! Yikes! I am due for a change.

A few notes on the Urban skirt:

  • The fabric is a stretch woven of undetermined pedigree and origin. I am sure it didn’t spontaneous appear in my fabric closet, but I have absolutely no idea where it was purchased.
  • I didn’t do all the topstitching required by the pattern instructions nor did I add on the front pocket flaps. I made them but forgot about them and when I discovered them under some stuff on my sewing table it was just too late to sew them on.
  • I did put in the invisible zip which actually came out very nice. I had thought about just making an elastic waistband but I figured I needed a sewing challenge and trying to remember how to put in an invisible zip was definitely the challenge I needed.

  • Making the drawstring ties for the side panels almost undid me! I think if I made this skirt again I would try different technique. (However maybe all techniques to make those little ‘burgers’ are difficult).

These past few weeks we have had lots of work done on the outside of our house (besides new paint, a new garage door and the deck off our living room was rebuilt). The worst part of this whole project was that all the windows were covered in plastic.

There were some days that the contractors weren’t even here and the house was wrapped in plastic!

My cats had a hard time coping because to them an open window is Cat TV.

They lounge in front of the window and watch the world go by. Since the windows were covered in plastic they couldn’t see out.

So what do you think they did? They howled! And, howled and howled some more!

Image courtesy of Google

But now the painter/the mason/the carpenters are all done and gone. I am pleased with the colors I picked for the house.

I especially like my newly painted the front door.

We also bought a little bistro set to go on our rebuilt deck. Of course, it is still in the box awaiting assembly.

My next sewing project?

I am teaching a sewing class on July 21stYikes! I need to make all the samples. Take pictures. Finish writing up the directions. Run copies. Make the kits. Double Yikes!

I need to get to work!

2 thoughts on “The Urban Skirt

  1. Shams says:

    I love your skirt! And glad your cats are back to the normal routine. 🙂

  2. Tia Dia says:

    I love that skirt!

Leave a Reply

Archives

