Ahoy!

Leave a comment

June 13, 2012 by Janna Roznos

 

This is one of those projects that was to fun to sew.  The anchor buttons were the inspiration.

The buttons came from a local estate sale.  I sifted through these two huge bins of buttons and picked out all the anchor buttons.  Half of which I gave to a friend who loves anchors and has an Etsy shop where she sells all things with anchors.

I really wanted a cotton blouse were I could use these anchor buttons so I went off to JoAnn’s to find some nice shirting material  and I stumbled upon this blue & white anchor themed seersucker fabric.  And what really sealed the deal: 50% fabric coupon!  Blue & white seersucker really isn’t my color (I am more of an earth tone person), but any doubts I may have had were soon shoved aside.

I chose this particular blouse no. 104

from the May 2012 edition of Burda Style Magazine

that I thought would be the best fusion between fabric and design and buttons!

I made up quick muslin of the blouse and it fit pretty well except for around my middle (too many brownies!) so I sewed the blouse with a shallower body dart then what the pattern prescribes.

I also added a sleeve placket on the sleeve vents.  Burda instructions just cite the little bias strip.

The blouse went tougher pretty fast and this seersucker material was great to work with.  I think it is probably a cotton blend of some sort but I forgot to note the fabric content on the end of the bolt.  But the fabric does laundry very nicely.

This blouse pattern is a real winner and I may make it again, but not with anchors and schooner wheels!

Leave a Reply

Archives

