Gone again?! No, not really.

2

April 24, 2012 by Janna Roznos

Okay! So I have been busy.  Busy doing other activities besides sewing, but a little bit of sewing, too.

First and most importantly, we had new windows installed in our home.  I know for some new windows are a big bleh! But for others, like me, they are a dream come true.

New bedroom windows

We live in an old house – not as old as some around here, but old enough.  The windows were not maintained at all by the previous owner and although we sanded, patched, spackled and painted there is only so much that can be done.  So we bit the home- owners’ renovation- bullet and had new double hung windows installed.

So while this was going on my sewing room was used as storage and my two indoor cats were locked up in the kitchen – howling!

Other activities have been my estate sale shopping.  Now normally I do not go NEAR estate sales, garage sales, flea markets, jumble sales and the like. Why? Because I have no self-control when it comes to old sewing items, notions, fabrics and such.  I have this fear – irrational, perhaps?  That I am on the slippery slope to becoming a HOARDER! I don’t really think I am a hoarder, but I surely don’t want to end up as one.

This particular estate sale had buttons.  Now, I have more buttons then I will ever use already in my stash.   I have been TRYING so ever hard to use up my fabric stash before buying anything new and using up my buttons, too.  In fact I have three blouses done (which I haven’t blogged about where I have used stash buttons) however . . . . . I bought more buttons!

There was more, but I restrained myself and only bought these.  A friend of mine loves anchors so my plan is to give her half of them and the other half I am planning on using . . . maybe  . . . someday 😉

Also, the exhibit at our local Museum is up – it all about aprons.  While I pressed the aprons before hanging them I took these pictures.

The sewing on them is just amazing.

I would guess that the sewists that made these would never have thought that at some time in the distant future their hand crafted apron would be hanging up in a Museum.

All the aprons are ‘well used’ or as one docent once told me ‘well loved’.  I was at the Museum yesterday and several people were ‘oohing’ and ‘aahing’ over some of the aprons.  Of course the guys were more impressed with the old hand cranked washing machine (sorry no pictures of that!)

I do have several sewing projects to post here and reviews to write up on PR, but what slows me down is my lack of computer skills.  Ouch! I hate to admit that.  I’m still struggling in linking pictures from Flickr to PR to back to here and then over there and then here again . . . well, something like that.  I know I just need to buckle down and grunt through it and figure it out. Really? Can it be that difficult?!

2 thoughts on “Gone again?! No, not really.

  1. KC says:

    Those aprons are quite admirable, but some of them don’t seem to offer much protection against spaghetti sauce!
    Do you use a desktop blog editing program? That could simplify all the linking.

    • sewforward says:

      I sort of started looking at the desk top publishing (Microsoft Word) on my new computer, but alas I got frustatrated and deceided to sew instead 😉

Leave a Reply

Archives

