Year of Sewing Burda: A new skirt for me!

1

March 1, 2011 by Janna Roznos

I have been sewing, but just not blogging.  I finished this skirt from Burda April 2010.

Burda 4-2010-140

Burda4-2010-140

I used some denim that I had in my stash.  I had bought a long length of this denim and had sewn a pair of jeans, which I wore once and then threw out – they were horrible!  But I did have enough denim to make this nifty skirt.

Burda 4-2010-140 in denim

I traced pattern size 48 and I did alter it a bit: I shorted it by about 3 inches and made the pocket flat (no pleats) and it is also a tiny bit smaller, too. 

Restyled side pocket

 I also took about an inch off the top of the skirt too.  I like my skirts to sit just a little bit below my natural waist – well, where my ‘natural’ waist would be if I had a waist.

It doesn’t fit too well on my dress form because the dress form isn’t really my shape.  I like the skirt although I will probably not be making another one like it – there are so many neat garments in Burda  I don’t  want to make duplicates but move on and make something else.

I am still working on putting together a tutorial on the ‘Toaster Method’  for attaching a collar and collar stand to a shirt.  It is taking me more time than I thought because I really don’t know how to write a tutorial- but I am learning!

So back to the sewing machine!

One thought on “Year of Sewing Burda: A new skirt for me!

  1. Rochelle says:

    I love the pocket on this skirt, it really sets it off.

Leave a Reply

Archives

