Progress, Progress and Progress!

4

February 4, 2011 by Janna Roznos

Although I don’t have a completed sewn garment to show off – no ‘Ta-Da!’ moment – I have made some significant progress on two projects I am currently working on:

First is from Burda 7-2010. 

 It is blouse No. 129.  The one on the left.

I made the muslin last night and after just a little bit of fiddling with the side seams I got a nice fit. (Geez! I really ought to iron the muslin before I take a picture of it!)

I have this fabric from Mood –LA which I am planning on making it up in. 

 I think this fabric is a cotton rayon blend, but I forgot to note the content when I purchased it awhile ago.  And, I could do a burn test on it, but I am terrible at that so why bother.

I don’t know what buttons I am going to use yet, but I am sure I have some thing in my stash.

My other project is this blazer from Silhouette Patterns.  I am almost finished with it the final garment – sorry no picture yet.

I went to Peggy Sager’s Fit Workshop in January – it was fantastic!  I learned so much about fit: how garment should fit,  how to alter the muslin to get a good fit, how to alter the pattern for a better fit.  It is one sewing seminar that I would consider repeating again and again.

In my defense, this muslin was rolled up in my bag and I snapped this picture after I had unpacked – that is why it is a wrinkled mess!  And, yes, I should have ironed it first.  Oh well.   I have been looking through my buttons trying to figure which ones to use for this blazer. 

 Still contemplating . . . but I am leaning towards the small metal ones rather then the bigger brown ones. 

I think I see the end completion of both these garment soon because there are several others I want to start on!

4 thoughts on “Progress, Progress and Progress!

  1. KC says:

    Progress is fun! Do you have a link for finding out when and where Peggy Sagers is offering her fit workshop (in or around LA)? I’d love to take one in.

  2. sewforward says:

    Check out her website at silhouettepatterns for the locations of her Fit Seminars.

  3. Karin says:

    Your muslin looks good, life is too short to iron a muslin for a blog pic! I hope to sew more Burda patterns too.

  4. Rochelle says:

    I love the metal buttons with this as well, it’s going to be beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Archives

