Back into the garden.

3

August 8, 2010 by Janna Roznos

Since it has been unseasonable cool here in Southern California, I have taken advantage of the unusual weather and have been working in the garden.

My cymbidiums have been sorely neglected (by ME of course!). So I spent the day repotting them.  I went to Blue Hills Nursery and purchased the biggest bag of wood bark available (which is the best stuff to pot cymbidiums in) but it wasn’t enough! Argh! I ran out of wood bark soI rummage around in the corner of the garage where all the potting soil, fertilizer and who knows what else is kept and I discovered another bag of bark about 3/4 full – Yeah! 

 I got all the cymbidiums done and then gave them a good dose of fertilizer so next spring I should (keep those long green leaves crossed) get some blooms.

Here they are all done.  At one time I wanted them all to be in the same size 2 gallon containers so they would be easier to move around – but no more! Now they are repotted in containers from what ever I had available from the lower yard. 

I also planted some zinnas. Yes, these were a total splurge buy at the nursery.  I usually grow these from seed, but just didn’t get to it this summer.

These are my old garden shoes – cute huh?  At least these clogs are good for something (they were VERY uncomfortable). 

And I saved the best picture for last!

My Lang ski boots.  I loved these boots. I skiied on them for over 10 years (probably longer).  Last spring, in Park City, my left boot exploded on me! Fortunately I was wearing a helmet because I fell and I fell HARD!  So now my wonderful – very comfortable – ski boots that took me to the many slopes in the US and Canada are now just a garden art – recycled art that is!

3 thoughts on “Back into the garden.

  1. Mary says:

    Wow, your boot exploded?! dang! Glad you are okay. Those are the sweetest planters ever.

  2. OK, those ski boot planters are THE funniest thing I have seen all day! Hilarious!

    P.S. – you ski in Southern California?

    • sewforward says:

      Yep. There are several places to ski just about an hour or so from LA in the San Bernardino Mts. Although, my favorite spot is about 5 hours away – Mammoth Mtn. However, my boot exploded while in Utah – some of the best snow on earth!

Leave a Reply

Archives

