What I do when I am NOT sewing!

1

May 19, 2010 by Janna Roznos

There are many things I do, but the one thing I do like to so (besides sewing) is gardening. 

This is my rose arbor and my Cecil Brummer (I think that is how you spell  it) rose. It only blooms once a year, but it is my favorite rose.  My grandparents had these along the back fence in their house in Alhambra and my mother always loved this rose, too.  When we moved into this house there was just this huge tree and nothing else. 

It took us several summers to landscape so now we can just enjoy.  We have a family of mocking birds that move in every spring  into the arbor and have their chicks.  Once the chicks are able to fly, the whole brood moves on until next spring.  

 I don’t spend as much time out here as I should – please don’t look too close because you’ll probably see some weeds.  Yikes! Enjoy!

One thought on “What I do when I am NOT sewing!

  1. Rochelle says:

    Your garden is beautiful! Cecil (rose) is also called the “Sweetheart Rose” and was used as boutonnieres for men’s formal occasions. It is my favorite too. Your garden makes you just want to sit and have a tall glass of iced tea! Lovely.

Leave a Reply

Archives

