PIGS – Projects in Grocery Sacks!

3

April 11, 2010 by Janna Roznos

My New Year’s resolution (for 2010) was to finish what I have started and to use up all the fabric in my sewing closet.  So far, I am not sure if I have met either resolution (well, I haven’t bought any new fabric) but I surely have not finished all the PIGS either.  I guess, PIGS will be my 2011 New Year’s resolution, too.  Talk about pre-planning . . .

I did finish this PIG – Vogue 8399.

This vest I started long ago and FINALLY have finished.

I know needs a little pressing – oops!

 I had purchased the wrong size pattern so I had to redraft  the shoulders and make them smaller – I dislike pattern drafting but it is a good skill to know.  I used fabric from Fabric Land (Orange, CA) which had been ‘stewing’ in my sewing closet. I also use silk pieces from Ah! Kimono.  I ignored the guide sheet completely (bad habit of mine) so I ended up doing a lot of hand sewing in order to  complete the vest.  Next I will try the jacket version.

Some more detail pictures:

The back insert.

Hand sewing the facing/collar section.  I also made a matching pair of pants.  This will be a good outfit to wear this summer when I need to be ‘put together’ but it is too hot for a blazer.  Back to sewing  . . . . . .

3 thoughts on “PIGS – Projects in Grocery Sacks!

  1. Karin says:

    PIGS is a great acronym! All my UFOs are in plastic grocery bags in the corner of our dining room. I have three at the moment. Whenever I look at our dining room I realise just what an understand man I married! lol

  2. Kathleen Luchs says:

    Your Marci Tilton vest is nice. I made the same vest and disliked the way the flanges made peaks at the top of the shoulders especially as this is not the way it looks on the pattern envelope. Several of the reviews on patternreview.com mention that the flanges are drafted wrong. If you prefer the flange to lie flat, it is easy to redraft them; one of the reviews gives directions.

    Just fyi – I liked my vest a lot but the pattern did not work well as a jacket for me.

  3. Rochelle says:

    Hi Janna! Just found your blog and I love it. Your projects are inspiring, the blouse is beautiful, I hope to see it in person!

Leave a Reply

Archives

