Pencil Skirt Success

Leave a comment

June 25, 2009 by Janna Roznos

I came of age in the ’80’s –  and over the years  I’ve given up the big hair, the big shoulder pads in jackets, but I still love a good pencil skirt and this is it:   I recently made two of these.  This one is from home dec fabric I purchased at M&L Fabrics in Anaheim.

Pencil Skirt Front A

The pattern is very easy and I purchased it through Lanetzliving.net, which is a great website for fininding out-of-print patterns.  The pattern is Butterick 5390.

B5390 patternI installed a lapped zipper:

Pencil Skirt Back ZipI used Kenneth King’s lapped zipper method from his book.  I know there are LOTS of sewing books to show the lapped zipper, but I wanted to try the ‘King’ method.kennethkingcool couturebook

Leave a Reply

Archives

