Hand Stitches

Leave a comment

December 19, 2008 by Janna Roznos

I recently taught this class to a ASG Neighborhood Group.    I think, in sewing, we get so caught up in doing it fast- quick and easy-we forget  the tried and true methods of making a garment to last for years. We invest our time in sewing a garment, I think we should appreciate and enjoy each step.  I guess that’s why I like using these stitches in a garment rather than ahand-stitches-11 quick method.  If you read Claire B. Shaeffer’s book, Couture Sewing Techniques, she outlines these stitches.  I know there are other sewing books that show a description of these stitches, too, but I almost always refer back to Couture Sewing.  I am working working on a tailored jacket.  Vogue Pattern V8333.  My plan is to have it done by the  New Year.  I will post the process of tailoring this jacket as soon as I am finished. Meanwhile, I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday- regardless of what holiday you celebrate – I hope you and your family and friends enjoy the holiday season!

Leave a Reply

Archives

